EAT HERE NEW YORK!: Nomad Hotel restaurant

Holy.

Crap.

You guys.

I had one of the best lunches of my entire life the other day.

nomad#1

Actually, the day was Administrative Professionals day.

At night I am pursuing a pipe dream career in entertainment. By by day I am, in fact, an administrative assistant. Not sure I am capable of being “professional.”

So for my special holiday, my bosses told me to pick a restaurant for lunch. ANY restaurant.

And pick I did.

Ladies and gentleman, the restaurant in the NoMad Hotel.

nomad#2

As soon as we walked in, we were greeted by dapper door men, passed Nina Garcia sipping her golden glass of Pinot Grigio (I totally pin her as a Grigio gal), and marveled at the decadence of the decor.

The incredible chandeliers, plush velvet chairs, and dozens of pressed and framed foliage on the walls made me feel like a modern day princess, I mean, a super rich person.

This poor kid was out of her mind.

nomad#3

As soon as we were seated, our impeccably dressed waiter brought us our FREE bread. Topped with onions and rosemary, the bread was incredibly fresh and steaming hot. The sweetness of the onions were absolutely perfect on this salty and steamy loaf (really Rebecca……steamy loaf?) and this was just the FREE BREAD. I could not wait for the rest of the meal.

nomad#4

My boss ordered the Tagliatelle ($20) as our appetizer. The fresh, homemade pasta with meyer lemon, black pepper, and king crab was absolutely delectable and totally big for an appetizer in this caliber of a restaurant. Generally the food is fantastic but you only get a teaspoon portion for $20. This portion could have been a meal. 

nomad#5

Okay. Okay. We devoured that.

BRING ON THE MAIN COURSE!

nomad#7

One of my bosses ordered the Scallops ($28). Seared with fresh chickpeas, pine nuts, and sauce amer…of course, they were absolutely perfect. Cooking a perfect scallop seems to be priority number one for any good chef and let me tell you, this was a great chef. Not the slightest bit  rubbery or fishy. Just melt in your mouth, velvety goodness.

My other boss and I thought, when in Rome order the thing every review of the restaurant tells you to order; the Roast Chicken for two ($79).

nomad#6

 

Now. This presentation is outstanding but this is not the first glimpse that we got of the chicken.

Before they cut it up to be served (or so we are told) they bring out the entire roast chicken, completely intact, in a giant pot. As soon as I saw it (across a croooooowded room), I wanted to use my hands, like the pauper I am, to tear into it. But as soon as you see the beautiful animal, they whisk it away to plate it. You know. For civilized human beings.

We each got our white meat on this beautiful plate with grilled carrots, snap peas, and a potato puree. Under the crispy roast chicken skin is a layer of (drum roll) foie gras, black truffle, and brioche.

It. Is. Un. Be. Lieve. A. Ble.

nomad#8

 

But Rebecca? Isn’t it a whole chicken?! Where is the dark meat?!

Well, first, that’s what she said.

Second. The dark meat is brought out in a  separate dish floating in a garlic cream foam and chives. The dark meat is so incredibly moist and soaking in the most ridiculous pile of salty, garlic heaven.

It. Is. Also. Un. Be. Well, you get it.

nomad#10

 

Finally. We wanted something sweet to conclude our wonderful meal. But we are all super obsessed with trying to keep our sugar intake down to a minimum (e.g. I only had a few strands of that marvelous homemade pasta). So we asked if we could maybe get a fruit plate.

Ask. And you shall receive…..a gorgeous array of fresh fruit.

 

Needless to say, if you have the means, please go here.

Please.

I will be going back for dinner. A long dinner. With wine. Because I want to imagine that I am a princess as much as I possibly can. Well, just a super rich person.

 

Leave a Reply

