Cooking Adventures: Mediterranean Roasted Broccoli!

I DID IT!

I finally created my very own original recipe.

Well, original to me.

I am sure someone has made this somewhere throughout the course of human history.

But in my own history, this is the first recipe where I have taken bits and pieces of what I have learned from numerous food blogs (most notably The Amateur Gourmet and Smitten Kitchen) and created something.

All. By. Myself.

DSCN0212

Eating vegetables is a skill that I did not acquire until I was an adult.

But throughout my avid avoidance of all things good for me, I have had an allegiance to broccoli.

When I was vegan for 3 and a half minutes, I finally started teaching myself how to cook and I was basically restricted to learning how to do so with vegetables.

DSCN0215

Now, I am extremely passionate about vegetables.  I have tons of new favorites but broccoli will always remain my number one. Not necessarily because it is the best but because it has been there the longest. You know, like any long term couple.

DSCN0237

My favorite method for cooking veggies, by far, is roasting.

I roast everything. Sweet potatoes, bell peppers, brussel sprouts, and even my own nuts!

Almonds. Not testicles.

But I couldn’t believe I hadn’t used my favorite roasting method with my favorite vegetable.

So I went on a hunt for a roasted broccoli recipe and of course I found one on one of my favorite food blogs, Amatuer Gourmet, called “The Best Broccoli of Your Life.” 

Go on…….

Adam Roberts’ recipe goes over the basics (425 degrees for 20 minutes, 5 TBLSP of olive oil, sliced garlic, etc)  of roasting broccoli but he also adds lemon zest, lemon juice, and parmasean.

Acid and cheese make everything better!

Acid And Cheese should be the name of my new punk band.

Now, when I first started actually cooking, my primary thought process was, “As long as it is edible.”

But this time, I had the spark of creativity.

“This needs color and texture,” I thought.

I proceeded to give myself a pat on the back for thinking that at all and then dove into my fridge and cupboards.

I found a red onion, pine nuts, and homemade tahini sauce.

More things that make all things better.

DSCN0239

So, I added slices of red onion to add some beautiful maroon (psssh! RED onion my ass) slices of onion to the vibrant pile of green roughage before I popped it in the oven so they could roast right along side their broccoli brethren.

When I popped it out of the oven 25 minutes later, I zested and squeezed the lemon and sprinkled the parmasean as planned. But then I scattered the pine nuts and drizzled the tahini sauce as artistically as possible.

DSCN0243

ISN’T IT GORGEOUS???!

Well, it is as delicious as it is beautiful.

Maybe Adam is talking about the best broccoli of YOUR life

But I assure you….THIS, most certainly, is the best of MY life.

Mediterranean Roasted Broccoli

Ingredients:

2 bunches of broccoli
6 tablespoons of olive oil
1/4  of 1 red onion
1 lemon
4 garlic cloves
2 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper
parmasean cheese
tahini sauce
pine nuts

Steps:

1. Cut broccoli into big florets.

2. Place completely dry florets on aluminum foil covered baking sheet.

3. Add 5 tablespoons of olive oil, 1 1/2 tsp of salt, 1/2 tsp of pepper, sliced red onion, and 4 sliced (on the thicker side) cloves of garlic and toss.

4. Place in the oven for 20 – 25 minutes. Keep an eye on it. Don’t let it burn. Just let them get a little tender with brown edges.

5. Add 1/2 tsp more of salt and pepper. Toss again.

6. Zest and squeeze some lemon juice on top.

7. Garnish with as much tahini sauce, parmasean cheese, and pine nuts as you like.

ENJOY!

Let me know if you end up making it. No one has done that yet…..

🙂

AND WATCH MY COOKING WEB SERIES! A Cooking Show!

Leave a Reply

