Cooking Adventures: Sick Day Oatmeal

I think the five months of winter is getting the best of all of us here in New York City.

There have been a string of sicknesses that have been passed around my place of work.

And I sense another one is going around.

So I stayed home to rest, take too many vitamin D supplements, and work on the ol’ passion.

oatmeal #2

I managed to pull my 1,000 pound head off of the pillow so that I could shuffle in to the kitchen to make my morning coffee. By the way, I am running out of my coffee beans, does anyone have a recommendation for a new coffee bean I should try?

Also, how friggen awesome is my coffee thermos. Totally impractical (lid comes off super easy and it doesn’t really keep my coffee warm) but totally adorable. I don’t remember where I got it. Some chic place in Williamsburg.

Anyway! I couldn’t very well have coffee on an empty stomach. That would make me feel worse. And I didn’t want to have my normal healthy egg breakfast. I wanted something comforting. And then I remembered…..

Ina Garten had made the best oatmeal on her show the other day. It looked so creamy, warm, and delicious. And I had all the fixins in my kitchen. Which is amazing.

oatmeal #5

But, seeing as I am a new “food blogger,” I thought I would make some changes myself to see what happened.

oatmeal#8

I started with the whole milk and water on the stove. I was only making it for me (wah wah) so I cut her recipe in half.

oatmeal #3

I have had these dried cranberries in the refrigerator for a while now and I wanted to put them to good use. And this was a great use!

oatmeal #7

Now, I normallly try to stay away from sugar because it awakens the fat kid inside of me so I wanted to go with the healthiest sweetener alternative but without turning to chemical crap that gives you cancer like Splenda.

I had just read in this book that I am devouring right now, The Happiness Diet, that black strap molasses is excellent for you!

oatmeal #1

It can help you get certain nutrients that our modern day lifestyles have diminished like calcium and iron.

So I thought, why not add it to my oatmeal?! It’s kinda sweet….right? And the rich, dark color will look amazing drizzled on top.

oatmeal#6

Well, it looked great once you drizzled it…..

oatmeal #9

But when you stirred it all together, not only did it look like a bowl of shit….it tasted like one too.

Rookie mistake.

oatmeal#10

Luckily, I still had a teensy bit of the original batch of oatmeal left over in the pot.

oatmeal #4

Now, I normallly try to stay away from sugar because it awakens the fat kid inside of me but…I am sick damnit. I am going to treat myself.

oatmeal #11

And what a treat it was! There is something about adding salt to the oatmeal that makes it so much more complex! The salt enhances the sweet, the sweet enhances the cranberries and the cinnamon, and the milk makes it smooth as butter. Without butter!

Oh no. The kid is awake. I WANT ICE CREAM AND FRENCH FRIES ! ROOOOOOAAAAAARRRR!!!!!

Sick Day Oatmeal

Ingredients:

3/4 cup of whole milk

1 cup of water

3/4 cup of instant oats

1/4 teaspoon of salt

1/4 cup dried cranberries

1 tablespoon of cinnamon, 1 tablespoon of sugar in the raw, to taste

Steps:

1. Add milk and water to a pot on the stove and heat until simmering. Once simmering, add oats and bring to a boil.

2. When boiling, reduce heat and let simmer for 5 minutes to thicken. Stir occasionally.

3. Thick enough for ya? Remove from heat, add your dried cranberries (and any other dried fruit or banana!), cover, and let stand for 2 minutes.

4. Add cinnamon and sugar in the raw (or honey or brown sugar if you prefer) NOT BLACK STRAP MOLASSES (like this ass did) and SERVE!

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

