Day Two: There’s A New Voice In Town

I have entirely too many second thoughts.

I have entirely too many second guesses.

I haven’t really publicly proclaimed that I am even writing this blog yet because I thought of all of the reasons it was not a good idea. None of them are particularly good reasons. They are just reasons.

INT: BRAIN

A calm, confident, and optimistic figure walks into the brain and slowly approaches REBECCA. The OLD VOICE sulks in the corner near the temporal lobe. 

REBECCA
defensively

What?

NEW VOICE

You aren’t going to tell people you’re writing something that is meant to be read because you’re afraid

they may have opinions about it?

REBECCA

I hear what you are saying.

OLD VOICE

Pssh! No one wants to read about another mid-twenties white female trying to “find herself.” Just stick with quitting the whole thing when it gets too hard Becky.

REBECCA

You know I hate that name.

NEW VOICE
frustrated

Look Old Voice! I don’t like you, you don’t like me. I don’t even think you like…anything. But for right now, we all have to live together. And if you and I are going to get along in this small brain –

REBECCA
offended

Hey!

NEW VOICE
reassuringly

We talked about this. Size doesn’t matter, remember?

NEW VOICE pauses and takes a big calming breath.

If we are going to live in this…perfectly average sized brain…together, we need to get along. And if we are going to get along, we need to be nice to one another.

OLD VOICE

No no no no. That’s your thing. The only reason I am even in this miniscual, it matters, brain is to make sure she doesn’t feel confident.

REBECCA

Why would you want to do that?

OLD VOICE

It isn’t a matter of wanting to. I just do. That’s all I know how to do.

REBECCA
realizing

Well. Then. I guess we should ask you to move out.

OLD VOICE

What?! Why?!

REBECCA

Because! I agree with New Voice. I don’t want to live in a judgmental dick brain! I want to live in a calm, comfortable, confident brain!

NEW VOICE

Nice alliteration.

REBECCA
proud

Thanks.

New Voice is all of those things. And you, you are just there to make those things impossible. So. Let’s take a vote. All those in favor of kicking Old Voice out of the brain say “eye.”

NEW VOICE
apologetically

Eye.

OLD VOICE
feigning defeat

Wow. Two against one. I guess that means I have to leave.

OLD VOICE slowly turns around and sulks towards the cerebellum.

Oh. It’s probs gonna take me awhile to find a place soooooo…. I’m gonna have to stay here for a bit. Cool? Thanks.

OLD VOICE throws up two fingers as he exits.

DUCES!

FADE OUT

Seriously Old Voice. Fade out.

Run #5 of 2013

run 5

“I can’t feel my legs anymore. But I’m still running.”

Recommended Listening

“All Dried Up” by Phatogram

Leave a Reply

